Archived News Script

IRTS Radio News Bulletin Sunday February 10th 2002

Mayo Radio Experimenters Network & IRTS AGM

The Mayo Rally will be held on Sunday March 3rd 2002 in the Belmont Hotel, Knock, doors open at 11:00 AM. The IRTS AGM will be in the afternoon at the same venue, and the dinner dance will be on the Saturday evening. Added attractions since the February issue of Echo Ireland went to press include a live demonstration of the AO-40 satellite and the Microwave Society's presence. Latest details are on the club web site, or contact Padraic Baynes at QTHR.

Limerick Radio Club

The AGM of the Limerick Radio Club will be held on the 14th of March 2002 in the Limerick Institute of Technology, Moylish at 7.30 p.m. sharp. All members are urged to attend. The next meeting of the club will be on the 14th of February again in the college. For discussion will be the up-coming Rally, the progress of the Web site, final details regarding the AGM and more on the expedition to the Arran Islands to activate EJ-0-A. The Club have just recently launched their Web Site and please bear in mind that it is still under construction the address is Feel free to have a look and pass on any comments that you may have, good or bad.

Terenure Rally

Terenure rally will take place on the 26th of May 2002. Doors open at 11.00 a.m. For information on stalls please contact George EI2CPB on 086 2586103.

South Eastern Amateur Radio Group

The Annual General Meeting of South Eastern Amateur Radio Group was held on Wednesday the 16th of January last. The new committee for 2002 is as follows; Chairperson - John EI2HW, Vice Chairperson - John EI8JA, Secretary, Martin EI5FDB, Treasurer - Mick EI5DCB, and PRO - David EI7FYB. Officers are, Mark EI7IS, Gareth EI7FZB and Eoin EI7FXB. Trustees are; Egidio EI9EQ and John EI8JA.

Other positions remain unchanged, those positions are; Repeater Keeper - John EI8JA, Technical Manager - Egidio EI9EQ, Webmaster - Mark EI7IS and IRTS Representative - John EI8JA.

The membership subscription was set at (Euro) €30. The next meeting will take place on Wednesday the 27th of February 2002 at the usual venue of Roanmore Social and Sports Centre, Cleaboy Road, Waterford. Visitors and new members are welcome.

Cork Repeater Group Cork Repeater Group will be holding it's AGM on Tuesday evening the 19th of February at 8 p.m. The venue is Wilton Park House, Cork. Subscriptions are (Euro) €20 and can be paid to John Mooney EI6AK.

South Dublin Radio Club

The Annual General Meeting of South Dublin Radio Club takes place on Tuesday the 12th of February at 8.00 p.m. in the club QTH at Marian Road, Rathfarnham. This is an important meeting, and all members are requested to attend.

Band Threat on 70 cm in US

ARRL officials met recently with FCC staff members as part of an attempt to ward off a new band threat on 70 cm.

League officials delivered a presentation to the FCC Office of Engineering and Technology staffers concerning SAVI Technology's plan to deploy unlicensed transient RF identification devices between 425 and 435 MHz. The League contends these transmissions will be at much higher field strengths and duty cycles than Part 15 rules now permit. The League also informed the Commission that the chosen frequencies are a bad choice and without technical justification. A copy of the ARRL presentation interference study is available on the ARRL web site. The ARRL reports it will continue to do whatever is necessary to hold off the threat.


Would all Amateurs who worked 6 metre DX during the past year, and who wish to submit an entry for the annual IRTS Six Metre Shield, submit their entries now. The scoring is as follows: Number of unique QSO's x Maidenhead squares x DXCC countries = points scored. Rules are printed in the yearbook. The winner will be announced in March at the IRTS AGM in Knock. Last years winner was Charlie, EI5FK. All entries should be forwarded to the I.R.T.S Contest Manager, John McDonnell, EI6IR at or at QTHR.

With the IRTS AGM only a few weeks away, all holders of trophies should return them as soon as possible to Peter Grant EI4HX. If you cannot arrange the return, please contact any committee member. Nominations are also requested for the Arup Cup, Collins Cup and the Pat Conway Cup. These are presented for service to the hobby or to the society. These should be sent to the Awards Committee, care of Peter Grant EI4HX. See the IRTS web site at for contact details.

The Ian Morris Trophy is awarded to the Short-wave Listeners with the most DXCC entities heard during the past year. There are two trophies for home construction and equipment being entered should be brought to Knock on the day of the AGM.

Items for inclusion in Echo Ireland should be forwarded to Dave Moore EI4BZ at 021-4883555. Items can also be submitted to Dave by e-mail at

Items for inclusion in the Radio News should be forwarded to Mark Wall EI7IS at QTHR or via e-mail to or Items can also be sent to Mark over the phone at 087-6302026.

News can also be submitted via e-mail to for automatic forwarding to both news services.