Archived News Script

printer friendly version

IRTS Radio News Bulletin Sunday February 16th 2003

Silent Keys

Sadly, we start today's bulletin with news of two silent keys. Paddy Serridge GI0PED/EI6IH passed away on Wednesday last February 12th after a short illness. Paddy was a prominent member of the Dundalk Radio Society and a former member of the IRTS Committee. We extend our deepest sympathy to his wife Jan EI7IH and his family.

Mike Murphy WB9KOY/EI7EG passed away on Sunday last February 9th in Chicago after a week long respitory illness. Mike was originally from Carlow and returned to Ireland frequently with his wife and family. Mike was often heard on the Sunday Irish Hour on 21317 kHz. We extend our deepest sympathy to his wife and family.

Region 5 Dinner

Amateurs and their partners in the south will gather at the Silversprings Hotel in Cork City for the Annual Region 5 Dinner on Friday March 14thnext. The five-course meal will only cost 25 euro and bookings should be made with Dave EI4BZ as soon as possible.

East Cork AGM

The East Cork Group held their AGM on Monday night last and members reviewed events of 2002. Officers elected for the coming year are: Jim Barry EI8GS Chairman; Jerry Cahill EI6BT Secretary: John Barry EI8IR is Treasurer and Denis O'Flynn EI6HB is the QSL Manager. The next major event for the Group will be the CQ WPX SSB contest at the end of March. Visiting operators who wish to come and stay for the weekend are more than welcome.

South Eastern Radio Group AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the South Eastern Amateur Radio Group will take place in the Roanmore GAA Centre Cleaboy Road Waterford on Wednesday week, the 26th February, at 8.00 pm sharp. As this is a very important event in the club's calendar, all members are requested to attend.

IRTS Annual General Meeting

The Irish Radio Transmitters Society Annual General Meeting will be held this year on Sunday April the 27th at Jury's Green Isle Hotel on the Naas Road in Dublin 22. The meeting starts at 1430. There will be no Dinner Dance or Rally associated with the AGM. A carvery lunch will be available in the Green Isle before the meeting. Full details are in the current edition of Echo Ireland.

South Dublin Radio Club

The Annual General Meeting of South Dublin Radio Club takes place at the club QTH at Marian Road, Rathfarnham on Tuesday week, the 25th of February, at 8.00 pm. All members are requested to attend.

Limerick and Enniskillen Rallies

Limerick Radio Club will hold their Annual Trade Fair at the Greenhills Hotel on the Ennis Road in Limerick on Sunday March the 9th. Regular traders attending include Long Communications, South East Communications and Compustore. Cellcom Ireland Ltd will be making their first appearance at an EI Rally. From the UK, Linear Amp, Yaesu and Icom have confirmed their attendance. Icom will be using the occasion to hold the UK/EI launch of their new IC-703, a HF plus 6 metre QRP radio. Yaesu have donated a VX7R, a three band handheld, for the raffle. Contact Paul EI6FE on 061-360122 or e-mail

The 22nd Enniskillen Amateur Radio Show, hosted by Lough Erne ARC, will be held in the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh on Sunday 6th of April 2003. Information from Herbie, GI6JPO on 028-6638-7761 or

EI Activity Day 2003

All EI stations are asked to make a special effort to get on the air for the annual EI Activity Day which this year is a three-day event, to be held from Saturday Match 15th to Monday 17th inclusive. EI stations are still in great demand by stations trying complete their Worked EI Counties Award and many overseas stations are also collecting Worked All Ireland Squares. Some years ago, clubs were very active in getting the rarer counties on the air. Maybe this effort could be repeated again this year.

Contests in the coming weeks

Next weekends contests include the CQWW SSB 160m contest together with the Belgian UBA CW and the French REF SSB. The SSB leg of the ARRL DX Contest takes place in two in two weeks time on March 1st and 2nd.

Results of IOTA Contest 2002

The results of the IOTA Contest of 2002 are now available and show that 7 EI stations submitted logs. There were only two island expeditions, EJ4F on Inisheer and EJ5E on Inishboffin. EJ4F is the winner of the IRTS IOTA Trophy. EI7M set a new EI record score in the island section and finished in 11th place overall. EI4DW is the winner of the Hal Hodgens Trophy as the leading EI station in the 12 Hour CW section and EI7IQ wins the IRTS DX Trophy as the leading EI single operator station. A full listing will appear in the next edition of Echo Ireland. This years IOTA contest will be held on July 26/27th.

Items for inclusion in the Radio News should be forwarded for the time being to Dave Moore EI4BZ. He can be contacted during the day on 021-4353853 or on 021-4883555 in the evenings. News can also be submitted via e-mail to for automatic forwarding to both the radio and printed news services.


contact IRTS