Archived News Script

printer friendly version

IRTS Radio News Bulletin Sunday February 24th 2002

South Dublin Radio Club

The SDR annual general meeting took place on Tuesday the 12th of February at the club QTH in Marian Road, Rathfarnham. It was a "full house" with an attendance of more than 30. The attendance included Kevin O'Herlihy EI7IM, who now lives in Thailand and has worked over 200 countries since he moved there. Kevin was in Ireland for a visit.

At the AGM, outgoing chairman Jim Holohan EI4HH reviewed developments during the year, during which club members participated in many events, including contests and the JOTA weekend. Treasurer Brendan de hOra EI3GV summarised the club's finances, while speaking in relation to the IRTS, Joe Ryan EI7GY outlined the main activities of the national society.

A new committee was elected for 2002, and is as follows: Chairman - Tom McGrath EI7HT, Secretary - Mark Boothman EI9IB and Treasurer - Mark Condon EI7FNB. Other committee members are; Peter Henshaw EI5JE, Daniel Cussen EI1443, Nicki Mullally EI1224, Tony Cummins EI7FKB, Tony Byrne EI1404 and Peter Morrisson EI9ES.

With 3 amateur television experimenters on the committee, club members can expect that ATV will feature significantly in club activities. South Dublin Radio Club is one of the more active clubs in the Dublin area, with a typical attendance of 20 or more members every Tuesday night.

Dublin QRP Amateur Radio Club Could you please note that the club meeting night will be changed to Friday from the first friday in March 2002, and amend future club lists in the newsletter accordingly.

IRTS Dinner Dance

The IRTS Dinner Dance will be held on Saturday March 2nd in the Belmont Hotel, Knock, Co. Mayo. The dinner which offers a choice of menu, starts at 8.30 p.m. and will be followed with a Dance featuring live music. The club promises numerous prizes at the event! Reservations for the Dinner Dance are essential, and Tickets priced at (Euro) €30 are available from Frances Taheny, EI5J, on 087 90 29 155. The organisers advise early booking to avoid disappointment, as numbers are limited.

South Eastern Amateur Radio Group

The next meeting of SEARG will take place on Wednesday the 27th of February 2002 at the usual venue of Roanmore Social and Sports Centre, Cleaboy Road, Waterford at 8.00 p.m. This is an important meeting in which the club hopes to plan proposed activities for the coming year. All members are urged to attend. Visitors and new members are welcome.

Dayton Hamvention

A reminder for those planning to attend the Dayton Hamvention that there is a gathering of the Irish Hour Net and friends at the Buckeye Belles Booth near the main food hall at 3 p.m. on Friday the 17th and Saturday the 18th of May. All are invited. There is also a friendly dinner at 6 p.m. For details see Kay WA0WOF/EI7HQ at Buckeye Belles Booth. There will also be an IRTS EI activity day on Sunday the 17th of March.

Contest Results

The following are the results of the Autumn Counties Contest held on August the 26th.

In the High Power Fixed category, first place was achieved by John Caffrey EI2JD with 40 QSO's in 15 Counties giving a total of 2565 points. Second place went to Elphin Windmill EI2SBC with 21 QSO's in 14 Counties giving a total of 1372 points. In third place was Michiko Nishiyama EI8FOB with 23 QSO's in 12 Counties giving 1200 points. Runners up were John Corless EI7IQ and Kohei Nishiyama EI8JC.

The High Power Portable Section was taken by South Dublin Radio Club EI2SDR with 58 QSO's in 17 Counties giving a total of 4437 points.

In the FM Only section, first place was achieved by John Kelly EI4HS with 29 QSO's in 15 Counties giving a total of 2250 points. Second place went to Oscar Reynolds EI7IW with 17 QSO's in 12 Counties giving 792 points while in third place was Paraic Baynes EI9JA with 18 QSO's in 11 Counties and 638 points. Runners up in the category were Eamonn Kavanagh EI3FFB and Dave Moore EI4BZ.

The winner of the Low Power Portable Section was Peter Grant EI4HX with 35 QSO's in 14 Counties and 1848 points. More results will be announced in next weeks news bulletin.

Cork Dinner

The Park Hotel in Midleton, Co. Cork will be the venue for a dinner and social evening on Friday March 15th. All experimenters and their friends are invited to take the opportunity to get together and enjoy a great meal in pleasant surroundings.

To book your tickets, contact Dennis O'Flynn EI6HB on 021-4667137, Jeremy Sheehan EI5GM on 021-4774955 after 1900 or Dave Moore EI4BZ on 021-4883555.


Would all Amateurs who worked 6 metre DX during the past year, and who wish to submit an entry for the annual IRTS Six Metre Shield, submit their entries now. Rules are printed in the yearbook. The winner will be announced in March at the IRTS AGM in Knock. Last years winner was Charlie, EI5FK. All entries should be forwarded to the I.R.T.S Contest Manager, John McDonnell, EI6IR at or at QTHR.

All holders of trophies should return them as soon as possible to Peter Grant EI4HX. If you cannot arrange the return, please contact any committee member. Nominations are also requested for the Arup Cup, Collins Cup and the Pat Conway Cup. These are presented for service to the hobby or to the society. These should be sent to the Awards Committee, care of Peter Grant EI4HX. See the IRTS web site at for contact details.

The Ian Morris Trophy is awarded to the Short-wave Listeners with the most DXCC entities heard during the past year. There are two trophies for home construction and equipment being entered should be brought to Knock on the day of the AGM.

Items for inclusion in Echo Ireland should be forwarded to Dave Moore EI4BZ at 021-4883555. Items can also be submitted to Dave by e-mail at

Items for inclusion in the Radio News should be forwarded to Mark Wall EI7IS at QTHR or via e-mail to or Items can also be sent to Mark over the phone at 087-6302026.

News can also be submitted via e-mail to for automatic forwarding to both news services.


contact IRTS